Skip to content

The NFA go to the Wilson Trophy

  • Published:
  • News
  • 2 min read

For the first time in many years, the National Firefly Association entered a team for the Wilson Trophy, the world’s premier team racing event held at West Kirby Sailing Club. The team certainly had some pedigree, with 5 previous Wilson Trophy winners in the team, and 5 national champions. However, these were historic victories dating back some years, and this team had never sailed together before – how would they fare against the other 31 teams who had been practising all season and were well-versed in the very latest team racing rules?

The three day event lived up to all expectations, with some fantastic close racing and memorable socials including the infamous Wilson Dinner. Fully umpired matches, commentary and a spectator grandstand all added to the experience.

The team sailed very well, with their boat speed particularly coming to the fore in the lighter breeze and their team racing improving as the event went on. After 22 races, some 350 races in total, the team were lying 7th overall and therefore qualified for the quarter finals against Wessex Exempt, who had finished 2nd in the Swiss League. Despite some very close racing, particularly in the first race, Exempt won 2-0 and eventually proceeded to the final where they were beaten by the West Kirby Hawks (which include former Firefly Champions Dom Johnson and Debs Steele) in a thrilling 3-1 final.

Thanks again to West Kirby for running such an amazing event.

Full event report in the next Firefly Bulletin

The NFA team:-

Stuart Hudson and Jane Hudson
David Ellis and Angus Armstrong
Paul Kameen and Laura Kameen/Hans Lennon