Skip to content

West Kirby Firefly Open Race Report

  • Published:
  • News
  • 3 min read

11 boats turned out for the West Kirby Firefly Open sailed on the Marine Lake on Sunday 12th September. The event – organised by Lucy Storey, Pete Bramley and Kay Eggleton – was absolutely brilliant, with club boats available to hire at a very reasonable rate. The £10 entry included a fantastic lunch by Lyndsay Gatenby and her team, and doughnuts when we first arrived.

The wind was due to be very light for the weekend, but Pete Bramley (RO) and Mike and Ann De St Paer (ARO) were keen to see how many races we would get in. What followed was 5 x short 10 minutes races sailed round a box course which saw considerable place-changing throughout. This style of event really tests your starting and close quarter boat work. Representing Llyn Brenig Sailing Club, I was sailing with Anna Leddingham from West Kirby Sailing club, and we had a great series, managing to eek our way to the front and then just hold on. We had exceptionally close racing and were regularly mixing it with Marian and Angus Armstrong, Guy Davison and Josh Darby,  James Morson and Lucy Storey and Will Trumper and Sarah Gomm.  

After lunch we managed to get two more races in before the wind dropped out completely, and we retired to the bar!

A brilliant day’s sailing, great to catch up with old friends, and a format that I love. For aspiring University team racers, this is the best practice you can do. For those with older slower boats, you can just about hold on!  For those who just think they are a bit older and slower, then the races are short enough that you can hold on! Thank you, thank you!

Photo Alan Jenkins

Overall Results:

1st Chris Kameen and Anna Leddingham (Llyn Brenig SC/ WKSC) (7pts) – George Jones Trophy Winners

2nd Marian and Angus Armstrong (WKSC) (13pts)

3rd James Morson and Lucy Storey (WKSC) (21pts)

4th Guy Davison and Josh Darby (Llangorse SC/ WKSC) (21pts)

5th Will Trumper and Sarah Gomm (University of Liverpool SC) (22pts)

6th and 1st U21 Win Thananitayaudom and Jodie Martin (University of Liverpool SC)  (38pts)- Mal Jones Rudder Trophy

Photo Alan Jenkins